Changing Perspectives

I started the global Perspectives class at Faith Community Church on Thursday. All I can say is, “Wow!” I knew that I was going to love being a student again…this is the first “real” class I’ve taken since my credential semester, but I had no idea how much I was going to love this. At the risk of sounding like a first-grader on their first day of school, I was praying to make a friend. What I didn’t realize was that I was stepping into a room full of friends. I distinctly had a feeling that I was surrounded by people I already knew and loved even though I’d never met most of them before. I’ve been trying to pray much more specifically lately, and these kinds of answers are starting to not be so surprising to me. If there’s one thing I’ve noticed since this pursuit, it’s that God loves to answer lavishly.
Anyway, this class is meeting me exactly where I’m at with my very limited understanding of God’s global purposes in the world, and I’ve got a lot of food for thought.
One of the things our speaker touched on that I really appreciated is the connotations of the term “missionary.” He said that when people hear that word, they immediately draw a line in the sand and respond with a line like, “Oh, I know, but I’m not called to that,” and the communication is over. I really appreciate that because I think the word “misionary” and “missions” can be a scary word. At least to someone like me. I mean, I didn’t even board a commercial airliner until my freshman year of college, and didn’t travel outside the West Coast until I was 20. What do I know about missions? I remember being enthralled by the idea as a kid, but not necessarily compelled to follow. More importantly, to me, missionaries were in their own separate class of people, and although I adored them, I didn’t really understand what my part in their lives should be. This class is good for people like me. I want to know God’s heart. I want to love what He loves and see people the way He sees them. This is my prayer especially for my students. He knows that this is a humanly impossible thing for me. I know it, too.
Well, God’s heart is for people…ALL people, on a global scale. So the question I’m currently mulling is where exactly does one finite human being fit into this grand scheme of things? If I am only able to be in one place at one time, can comprehend but not necessarily find my home in the ideals of other cultures, and have a sneaking suspicion that I know an infintesimal amount about the work that God is doing around the globe, how can He possibly use this limited life?

Leave a Reply

