Practice Makes Perfect

 

No Power

+

No Water

=

No Bueno

Here in TZ, they have a little saying: “Pole sana” (pronounced po-lay sauna).  It’s one of the first phrases I learned.  Why?  Because it is used so often.  It basically means, “I am very sorry for you.” Our power schedule says that we’re supposed to be without power all day Sundays, and on Tuesday and Friday evenings.  Yes, it’s hot. Yes, it’s hard to sleep, teach, and grade when you just want to go into a coma, but at least you know it’s coming. I could handle that. So far, this week we have been without power all day Sunday, Monday night, Tuesday night, Thursday night, and the power is scheduled to go off any time now (Friday night), with random power outages during the day. About an hour ago I turned on the faucet and nothing came out. Not even the littlest drip.  This means no shower even though my entire body is sticky, no dishes even though when the dishes aren’t clean they become infested with ants, and no laundry even though wearing a shirt more than twice means an embarassing odor, and I brought very few clothes to begin with. Pole sana.

How many tantrums have I thrown between now and then?  Exactly two.  How many more will I throw before the issue gets worked out? Unknown.  Probably in direct proportion to how much prayer I’m getting.

I know what you’re thinking. “Well, Heather, we are praying for you to stop complaining, so stop.”  Okay, okay.

Here I go again, on my thankfulness scales. They have gotten a little rusty this week:

1. Paradoxically, the internet is working perfectly fine.

2. I killed a mosquito. Oh the sweet satisfaction of revenge.

3. HOPAC parents made us a feast for lunch today, including Christmas cookies.

4. I got a package from my mom that was only slightly damaged, and had a cup of Starbucks coffee with hazelnut creamer for the first time in what seems like eternity. Oh the pure bliss of that first sip!

5. Cranky baby faces really are funny.

6. I get to run seven miles tomorrow first the first time since I was training for the marathon last spring. Super excited that I can still do it, even if I’m much slower than usual.

7. In exactly seven days, Quincy will be here!

8. I know people who do have water, so I’m really not going to die of thirst and lack of sanitation.

9. Power is still (miraculously) on at this very minute!

10. I really love my job more than any other job I’ve ever had in my life.

11. Jesus loves me enough to make me uncomfortable (this from Amanda H.)

12. I am already forgiven for those two temper tantrums, because He left His throne and become uncomfortable (mild understatement) for me.

“But I received mercy for this reason, that in me, as the foremost, Jesus Christ might display his perfect patience as an example to those who were to believe in him for eternal life. To the King of ages, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen.” (1 Timothy 1:16, 17)

5 thoughts on “Practice Makes Perfect

  1. You are so articulate. Tears and prayers, honey. God knows what He is doing, in His great plan, and His enormous love for you.
    Another thankfulness item: did you know that sweating releases body toxins that can’t be gotten rid of any other way? There’s got to be a lesson in that somewhere, too!
    Glad you liked the Starbucks Via, and creamer in a baggie….I wanted it to look boring!
    Numbers 6:24-26
    Mom

  2. Oy, I cry like a baby and become completely non-functional if I have to go one day without a shower. (Remember when we were camping and I took a cold shower in a creepy bathroom in the freezing cold?) Yes, I am that much of a nut about being clean so I more than sympathize…You are amazing to me for being able to handle this with any sense of grace! Also, Hooray for Quincy’s almost arrival!!

  3. Heather, just wanted to say Hi, and that I’m sorry you don’t have any water and frequently don’t have power.That must be annoying, frustrating, and ….. Scary? Do you have enough candles? I’m so happy for you that you love your job so much! You’re just amazing, you know. And so soon Quincy will be there!!! My continued prayers are with you. Do you know the old song, “Tell It To Jesus”? Much love, Aunt Sallie

  4. he he i got a mention! 🙂 just kidding…much happier that it encouraged you as it does me!

    and so excited for your visitor, as well as hopeful resolution for everything going on!

  5. Heather, you continually amaze me. Loved your blog post, and how (though you may not realize it) you are able to smile in the face of adversity. You certainly bring smiles and warm feelings to those of us that know you.

    Can’t wait to see pics of you and Quincy during his visit. I hope you have a wonderful time and continue to receive blessings from and with the children.

    Love you!
    Carrie

Leave a Reply

